Visit us on Google+

Swavely Named To Township Police Committee

SANATOGA PA – In the wake of Shawn Watson’s departure from the Lower Pottsgrove Board of Commissioners, a board committee on which Watson once played a significant role has gained his successor; an individual who brings added professional credentials to its work.

Commissioner Earl Swavely Jr., who served for years as police chief in West Pottsgrove Township, was named Thursday (Sept. 25, 2015) by board President Bruce Foltz as Watson’s replacement on the two-member Police Committee. Vice-President Stephen Foltz is committee chairman.

The appointment was unanimously approved.

The committee makes recommendations to the full board on department requests, including approval of its multi-million dollar annual budget. It meets monthly in sessions that are open to the public, usually on Thursdays at 5:30 p.m. Remaining meetings this year are scheduled for Oct. 22, Nov. 19 and Dec. 17.

Watson resigned from the board Sept. 8.

Related (to the Lower Pottsgrove Board of Commissioners’ Sept. 24 meeting):

Like what you read? Get even more of it, free. Subscribe to The Post.