Visit us on Google+

Familiar Faces Returning To Township Board

Voters come and go Tuesday from polls at the Lower Pottsgrove municipal building

SANATOGA PA – Republican incumbents swept aside the sole Democrat challenger in Tuesday’s (Nov. 3, 2015) race for Lower Pottsgrove commissioners, according to unofficial results from Montgomery County Voter Services.

Winning back their township board seats in the only contested race, in order of popularity, were:

  • Board of Commissioners’ President Bruce Foltz, with 1,082 votes;
  • Vice President Stephen Klotz, 1,051 votes; and
  • James Vlahos, 958 votes.

Their only opposition for any one of the three vacancies was Democrat Charles Nippert, who placed fourth with 779 votes.

In a second, unopposed race for only one commissioner’s seat under a two-year term, Earl Swavely Jr. received 1,118 votes.

The board consists of five representatives. The fifth, Ray Lopez, was unanimously chosen by the board to fill the vacancy of former commissioner Shawn Watson, who resigned. Because Watson’s resignation was submitted too late for his position to make the ballot, Lopez will hold it for two years.

Like what you read? Get even more of it, free. Subscribe to The Post.