Visit us on Google+

Hutt, Nippert Chosen As New Pottsgrove Directors

Dutiful voters received stickers at some polling places

LOWER POTTSGROVE PA – Pottsgrove Board of School Directors’ President Matt Alexander accumulated a combined 2,457 Democrat and Republican votes to lead the winners among a list of five candidates vying for four board seats in Tuesday’s (Nov. 7, 2017) general elections. Newcomers Scott Hutt and Charles Nippert, with 2,430 and 2,413 combined votes respectively, and incumbent Robert Lindgren with 1,340 Republican votes, also were successful in their bids.

Former President Rick Rabinowitz, with 1,324 Democrat votes, lost his re-election attempt by only 16 ballots, according to unofficial results reported by the Montgomery County Voter Services Office. All election districts had reported results from each of the school district’s three townships: Lower, Upper and West Pottsgrove. Single political party lines significantly affected tallies for Lindgren and Rabinowitz.

  • From Lower Pottsgrove voters, Nippert received the most combined votes, 1,460; followed by Alexander, 1,450; Hutt, 1,437; Rabinowitz, 787; and Lindgren, 781.
  • Alexander was the top choice among Upper Pottsgrove voters, with 686 combined votes; followed by Hutt, 672; Nippert, 655; Lindgren, 387; and Rabinowwitz, 370.
  • Hutt and Alexander received the same number of combined votes, 321 each, from West Pottsgrove voters. They were followed by Nippert, 298; Lindgren, 172; and Rabinowitz, 167.
  • There also were 16 write-in votes across all three townships.

Voter Services reports there are 7,602 registered voters in Lower Pottsgrove, 3,568 in Upper Pottsgrove, and 2,172 in West Pottsgrove.

Graphic from Montgomery County Voter Services; photo by The Post Publications


Like what you read? Get even more of it, free. Subscribe to The Post.