Visit us on Google+

‘Grove School Directors Take Their Seats Tonight

LOWER POTTSGROVE PA – “I do solemnly swear that I will support, obey and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of this Commonwealth, and that I will discharge the duties of my office with fidelity.”

That’s the oath to be taken tonight (Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2017) by new and re-elected members of the Pottsgrove Board of School Directors, allowing them to occupy their seats at board meetings and begin their roles in governance of the district.

Winners of the Nov. 7 general election – incumbents Matt Alexander and Robert Lindgren, and newcomers Charles Nippert and Scott Hutt – will be officially welcomed by remaining directors and school administrators during the board’s reorganizational meeting. It will open at 7:30 p.m. in the large group instruction room at Pottsgrove High School, Kauffman Road.

After the oaths are administered, directors will be asked to choose a president for the year. The incumbent president also is Alexander. Board members will make nominations for the position, votes will be cast, the winner decided, and then the new or returning president will grab the board gavel, close the reorganizational meeting, and shortly thereafter open the regular board meeting.

Outgoing board members Diane Cherico, who has served as a director for 5-1/2 years, and Rick Rabinowitz, 4 years, will be publicly recognized and thanked among the first orders of business after the board reconvenes.

Related (to the Pottsgrove Board of School Directors’ Dec. 5 meeting):

  • ‘Grove School Directors Take Their Seats Tonight

Photo from Google Images

Like what you read? Get even more of it, free. Subscribe to The Post.