Visit us on Google+

Amity Police Ask Help On School Bus Violations

AMITY PA – Township Police Chief Andrew Kensey hopes Amity residents won’t sit on their hands if they see a driver blow past a stopped school bus. Copy down a license number of the offending vehicle, he asked Tuesday (Sept. 4, 2018) on the police department website. Take a photo or video of the license plate if possible. And then call to make a report.

“We are seeing a significant increase in school bus stopping law violations,” the chief wrote Tuesday (Sept. 4, 2018) in a personal message posted on the website. “Every year in Pennsylvania children are needlessly injured or killed by drivers passing stopped school buses,” he added. “Unacceptable!”

Kensey promised his officers take “complaints of this nature very serious. We will be diligent in our enforcement of these issues. I am asking the community for help in bringing these wrong-doers to justice.”

“If you observe a school bus violation, call 9-1-1,” he requested. “Try and get a registration plate number. Get the location of the occurrence, a description of the vehicle and operator. Take a snapshot of the registration plate if possible. And most importantly, forward this vital information to our department and we will act … Our children’s safety is at stake!”

Kensey reminded readers of Pennsylvania law regarding drivers approaching school buses. The capitalization emphasis is his:

  • “When you meet or overtake a stopped school bus with red signal lights flashing and stop arm extended, you MUST STOP;
  • When you approach an intersection where a school bus is stopped with red signal lights flashing and stop arm extended, you MUST STOP;
  • You MUST STOP at least ten (10) feet away from the school bus;
  • You MUST WAIT until the red lights have stopped flashing and the stop arm has been withdrawn before moving; and
  • DO NOT MOVE until the children have reached a place of safety.”

Violators could be subject to various fines up to and including a 60-day driver’s license suspension, five (5) points on your driving record, and a $250 fine.

Photo from Google Images

Like what you read? Get even more of it, free. Subscribe to The Post.

No Responses