Perkiomen Honors Eight Volunteers for Valor, Heroism

Perkiomen Honors Eight Volunteers for Valor, Heroism
Participants in Monday’s award ceremonies (above and at top) were, from left, Deputy Chief Stan Turtle, Assistant Chief Kevin Motsavage, Assistant Chief Brian Debus, Engineer John Moran Jr., Firefighter Chris DiFerdinando, Firefighter Jeffrey Wynne, Junior Firefighter Patrick McCafferty and President Brad Bonner. Absent from the photo is Firefighter and Emergency Medical Technician Aleksey Kononenko

PERKIOMEN PA – Eight volunteer firefighters who are members of the Perkiomen Township Fire Company received its recognition Monday night (Dec. 13, 2021) for their valor and heroic actions during a Feb. 20 fire at a King Road home. All those honored were credited with helping to rescue a handicapped resident from the blaze.

Firefighters Jeffrey Wynne and Aleksey Kononenko, Chief Engineer John Moran Jr., and Junior Firefighter Patrick McCafferty were presented with the company’s Distinguished Service Medal. It is awarded to “persons who have performed acts of heroism.”

Assistant Chief Brian Debus, Assistant Chief Kevin Motsavage, Deputy Chief Stan Turtle, and Firefighter Chris DiFerdinando were presented with the company’s Medal of Valor for their roles in the fire. The Medal of Valor is “awarded to firefighters for performance above and beyond the call of duty at extreme personal risk, and having been instrumental in rescuing and saving the life of another person.”

The awards were presented by fire company President Brad Bonner and Fire Chief John Barnshaw during the company’s December monthly meeting.

Photo by Ted Hodgins via the Perkiomen Township Fire Company, used with permission