Pottstown Schools’ Foundation Names Officers, Directors

Georgette Howell (at top, from left) has been elected the foundation board’s president. New board members are Joe Cavallo, Lauren Williams, and John Robertson

POTTSTOWN PA – Three new members have been elected to serve on the board of directors of the Foundation for Pottstown Education, and its president and other officers have been selected for the next three-year period, the foundation reported in a Wednesday (July 29, 2022) e-mail.

The board’s new president

Elected as new board president is Georgette Howell, a Montgomery County Community College associate professor, registered dietitian, and co-coordinator for exercise science and wellness. She has 21 years of professional experience, including 17 teaching in the health and nutrition field. Howell recently served as board vice president.

Howell received her bachelor’s degree in history from SUNY Stony Brook; completed her masters of science degree in nutrition and education at Columbia University; completed her teacher in higher education program at Temple University, as well as health coach training from Hilton-Johnson, and has 32 credits toward her doctorate in health and human services.

Howell succeeds Dr. Tracey Brown, who served the past six years as president. During Brown’s tenure the foundation received $1.59 million through donations to enhance the education of Pottstown School District students.

Highlights included funding for more than 900 Chromebook computers, meals for students and families during the pandemic, 74 PHS students who earned an accumulated 1,675 credits in MCCC’s early college program, 81 scholarships awarded that annually average $42,000 per year, electronic books purchased for all four elementary schools, AP test fees provided to high school students, and equipment purchased for all six school art departments and libraries.

Besides Howell, newly elected board officers include:

  • Leticia Santiago, vice president;
  • Alison Scott, secretary, and
  • Scott Detar, treasurer.

Other board members chosen

The trio elected as board members for the Class of 2025 consisted of Joe Cavallo, Lauren Williams, and John Robertson.

Cavallo is vice president and business development officer for Tompkins Community Bank, and has served on the foundation Finance Committee for the past three years. Williams is the founder and “chief boss lady” of HR Experts. Robertson is the communications specialist for the Pottstown Area Health & Wellness Foundation. All three were elected to their first three-year terms.

Howell was also elected to a second term as a board member. Two additional current board members, Judy Green and Sue Yocom, were elected to continue.

The foundation raises funds for, and supports, life-changing educational opportunities for students and teachers in the Pottstown School District, and promotes the enhancement of the community.

Photos provided by the Foundation for Pottstown Education