Hermans Elected as S-F School Board President

ROYERSFORD PA – Erica Hermans (at top) was elected as president, and Dr. Margaret Wright as vice president, of the Spring-Ford Area School District board of school directors during its annual reorganization meeting held Monday (Dec. 5, 2022) at the high school on South Lewis Road. The election results of board member voting were reported by the district.

School board reorganizations are required by Pennsylvania law during the first week of December, it explained.

Board member Colleen Zasowski was re-elected to represent the district on the Joint Operating Committee of the Western Montgomery Career and Technical Center. She joins board members Karen Weingarten and Wendy Earle, who also represent Spring-Ford. The center overseers also include representatives of the Pottsgrove and Upper Perkiomen districts. Students from all three are educated at the center.

Director Gabrielle Deardorff will remain as the district’s representative to the Montgomery County School Directors’ Legislative Committee. She also will continue as the Spring-Ford board’s liaison to the Pennsylvania School Board Association.

Director David Shafer will serve as the district representative to the Spring City American Legion.

Board member assignments for 2023 participation in its community relations, curriculum and technology, extra-curricular, finance, personnel, property and policy committees were not announced during the meeting. Current assignments are being “assessed,” the district indicated, and likely will be announced early next year.

The board also adopted a 2023 meeting calendar, the district stated.

Editor’s Note: Information about the board re-organization meeting supplied by the district erroneously identified Erica Hermans as having been “re-elected” to the position of board president, it reported to The Post on Tuesday afternoon. Hermans was elected to her first term in that position. The Post subsequently modified both the headline and first sentence of this story to reflect the district’s correction.

Erica Hermans photo provided by the Spring-Ford Area School District